Guang Ming News, 6 April 2011 - Dijaya Tropicana Foundation Donates RM1 Million to Seven Chinese Primary and Secondary Schools

Guang Ming News, 6 April 2011

Dijaya Tropicana Foundation donated RM1 million to several non-profit organisations including seven Chinese primary and secondary schools.

The seven underprivileged Chinese primary and secondary schools received a total of RM100,000. These schools include, from Perak, SJK(C) Rahman Kudah (RM30,000), Ipoh and SJK(C) Pasir Pin Lo (RM50,000), Taiping; from Kedah, SMJK(C) Hwa Lian (RM50,000) and

SMJK(C) Kit Pin (RM60,000), Sungai Talim and SJK(C) Min Teck (RM50,000), Kulim; and from Malacca, SJK(C) Chung Chen (RM60,000) and SJK(C) Chung Kok (RM100,000).

The non-profit organisations include Ti-Ratana Welfare Society Malaysia, National Heart Foundation, and Malaysian Wushu Federation, which received RM100,000 each, while the Buddhist Tzu-Chi Merit Society Malaysia received RM300,000.

During the inaugural gala dinner on Tuesday night, MCA President Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek in the presentation ceremony handed over the mock cheques amounting to RM1 million to the eleven representatives from the non-profit organisations and the underprivileged


MCA President Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek said that corporations must uphold their corporate responsibilities. When a corporation becomes very successful and profitable, it should assist those who are still weak. He further stressed the Chinese saying that “…when a

corporation makes a profit from society, it must also have the heart to contribute back to them.”

Among those present at the gala dinner are T Dijaya Tropicana Foundation Chairman Datuk Rohana Tan Sri Mahmood, Dijaya Group CEO Tan Sri Dato’ Tan Chee Sing and his wife Puan Sri Chen Siew Chew, Ministry of Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Chor

Chee Hong, Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Deputy Minister Datuk Chan Chee Yong, and former MCA President Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik.

Eleven representatives from non-profit organisations and underprivileged schools taking a group photo with guests-of-honour.

Back row from the left – Tan Yong Loong, Rohana Mahmood, Chua Soi Lek, Tan Chee Sing, Chen Siew Chew, Tan Yong Jin and Tan Yong Chuan.